Australia name squad for tour of South Africa


Victorian spinner Jon Holland and Western Australian fast bowler Jhye Richardson are the bolters in Australia’s 15-man squad for the Qantas Tour of South Africa, while Hobart Hurricanes run machine D’Arcy Short is set to make his international debut after he was picked for the Gillette T20 INTL Series.

Steve Smith will be rested for the T20 international tri-series with David Warner to lead the squad that features Melbourne Stars allrounder Glenn Maxwell.

Holland, who played his only two Tests in Sri Lanka in August 2016, has leap-frogged Western Australia left-arm spinner Ashton Agar to be Nathan Lyon’s deputy.

The left-armer has played two JLT Sheffield Shield matches this summer for combined returns of 11-205, and was last season’s most successful spinner with 50 wickets at 20.78 runs apiece.

Western Australia paceman Jhye Richardson is the only uncapped member for the touring party, but the 21-year-old has had a taste of international cricket having made his ODI debut at the Gabba last Friday, taking 2-57 against England.

TEST SQUAD: Steve Smith (c), David Warner (vc), Cameron Bancroft, Usman Khawaja, Peter Handscomb, Shaun Marsh, Mitchell Marsh, Tim Paine, Mitchell Starc, Josh Hazlewood, Pat Cummins, Nathan Lyon, Jackson Bird, Jon Holland, Jhye Richardson.

T20 SQUAD: David Warner (c), Aaron Finch (vc), Ashton Agar, Alex Carey, Ben Dwarshuis, Travis Head, Chris Lynn, Glenn Maxwell, Kane Richardson, D’Arcy Short, Billy Stanlake, Marcus Stoinis, Andrew Tye, Adam Zampa.

error: Content is protected !!