PCL: Champions Guyana Jaguars end season unbeaten


Guyana Jaguars ended the Professional Cricket League Four-day championship as the only unbeaten team, whipping Trinidad and Tobago Red Force by an innings and 81 runs this morning at Providence.

With the victory, their seventh of the season, to go with two drawn encounters and a tie, the Jaguars finished the competition way ahead of the other teams, copping the title for the fourth year in succession. The final two games were of academic interest really, as the Leon Johnson-led Jaguars had already won the championship with two rounds to play.

Red Force, resuming on 282-8 and looking to wipe off a huge deficit of 405 to make Jaguars bat again, folded for 324 during the first session of the final day.

Jason Mohammed, resuming on 92, completed his seventh First-Class ton, an unbeaten 103. Veerasammy Permaul and Keemo Paul ended with 3-73 and 3-118 respectively, while Gudakesh Motie and Sherfane Rutherford picked up two wickets each.

Final scores in the match: Trinidad and Tobago Red Force 135 (Denesh Ramdin 50, Raymon Reifer 5-40, Keemo Paul 3-36) and 324 (Jason Mohammed 103*, Tion Webster 77, Veerasammy Permaul 3-73, Keemo Paul 3-118) v Guyana Jaguars 540-9 declared (Raymon Reifer 108*, Sherfane Rutherford 93, Chandrapaul Hemraj 72, Keemo Paul 53)

error: Content is protected !!