Second T20:Pakistan back to business,beat New Zealand by 48 runs


Pakistan beat New Zealand by 48 runs in the second T20 international to level the series 1-1 in a high-scoring thriller at Eden Park, Auckland on Thursday.

Finding form after a dismal run, Pakistan batsmen put up an imposing total of 201-4 after Sarfraz Ahmed won the toss and chose to bat.

Player-of-the-Match Fakhar Zaman and Babar Azam hit fifties, while Ahmed Shehzad marked his return to the playing XI with a fiery 44 off 34 balls.

Skipper Sarfraz, who promoted himself up the order, contributed 41 off 24 while back-in-form Babar Azam stayed not out at 50 off 29 deliveries.

New Zealand were bowled out at 153, after a combination of pace attack, spin and brilliant fielding led Pakistan to end the Kiwis’ 13-match winning streak (across all formats) and score their first win of the tour.

Mohammad Amir removed Colin Munro for 1 and Rumman Raees dismissed captain Kane Williamson for golden duck off a brilliant catch by Haris Sohail.

Haris ran out Tom Bruce soon after with an incredible direct hit that reduced the Kiwis to 47-3.

Faheem Ashraf led the wickets tally with 3 for 22, followed by Mohammad Amir and Shadab Khan with 2 each.

Hasan Ali and Rumman Raees took a wicket each.

“We started our shots after the first few overs. We tried in this match to survive the power play and not take too many chances,” Player-of-the-Match Fakhar Zaman said during the post-match ceremony.

The Kiwis had beaten Pakistan by seven wickets in the first T20 in Wellington.

Pakistan now face off against the hosts in the third and final T20 on Sunday, January 28.

Playing XI

Pakistan: Fakhar Zaman, Ahmed Shehzad, Babar Azam, Sarfraz Ahmed (c), Umar Amin, Haris Sohail, Shadab Khan, Faheem Ashraf, Hasan Ali, Mohammad Amir, Rumman Raees

New Zealand: Martin Guptill, Colin Munro, Kane Williamson (c), Tom Bruce, Glenn Phillips, Colin de Grandhomme, Mitchell Santner, Ben Wheeler, Ish Sodhi, Seth Rance, Trent Boult

error: Content is protected !!