NEW DELHI :- Shi Yuqi became the first Chinese player to win the India Open men s singles badminton title, defeating Chou Tien-chen in the final in New Delhi on Sunday.

Fourth-seed Shi overcame tough resistance from Chou, seeded third, to win the clash 21-18, 21-14 in 47 minutes.

Chou, who lost his second successive final in the BWF World Tour Super 500 tournament, took an early lead and had a four-point advantage at the mid-game break at 11-7.

But Shi fought back, getting nine points on the trot to win the first game in 24 minutes and carrying the momentum into the second game.

It was 21-year-old Shi s fourth major career title, after he won the France SuperSeries 2016 and two Grand Prix gold medals.

“Last year I didn t win any tournament, so glad to win this and hope this (is the) first of many to come,” world number eight Yuqi said.

“There were lot of long rallies in this tournament and I will take a lot of positives from here. It will boost my confidence,” he added.

In the women s singles, Beiwen Zhang won a hard-fought battle against top-seed Pusarla Venkata Sindhu of India 21-18, 11-21, 22-20 in one hour and nine minutes.

It was fifth-seeded Zhang s first major world title as she survived a championship point at 19-21 to win the third and deciding game.

Sindhu, who won the 2017 India Open, came back fighting in the second game but fell to Zhang s aggressive play.

“I had nothing (to) lose, but I think she took more pressure than me and she couldn t control,” the China-born Zhang told reporters.

“I played a lot of smashes and an attacking game which I generally don t. This is my first major title, so I am really happy. I guess this is the best moment of my career.”

Earlier, the Indonesian pair of Marcus Fernaldi Gideon and Kevin Sanjaya Sukamuljo won their fifth straight men s doubles title and third India Open after beating Kim Astrup and Anders Skaarup Rasmussen of Denmark.

Indonesia ruled in the women s doubles as well, with Greysia Polii and Apriani Rahayu defeating Thailand s Jongkolphan Kititharakul and Rawinda Prajongjai 21-18, 21-15.