Kings beat United by seven wickets, qualify for PSL playoffs


SHARJAH: Karachi Kings qualified to play the Pakistan Super League’s playoff round after smashing down Islamabad United by six wickets on Friday.

Islamabad United will play Karachi Kings in Qualifier-1 again on 18th. The winner goes through to the final. The loser will play the winner between Peshawar Zalmi and Quetta Gladiator.

Courtesy a four-wicket haul by Usman Khan Shinwari, the Morgan-led team restricted Islamabad United to 124 runs. The fast bowler bagged wickets of JP Duminy, Faheem Ashraf, Zafar Gohar and Steven Finn.

The fast bowler was well-assisted by leg-spinner Shahid Afridi, who bagged two wickets in the match, he finished with figures of 4-1-18-2, bowling out skipper Misbah (19) and Walton (21) to leave Islamabad looking clueless after a shaky start.

Second Innings

Kings opted to play safe in the match as the batsmen chose to not attempt high-risk shots.

The early breakthrough for United came with the wicket of opener Khurram Manzoor (15) by fast bowler Steven Finn.

In-form batsman Joe Denly played fiery innings of 36 runs off 28 balls including six fours and one six on the strike rate of 128.57 before he was dismissed by the PSL’s leading wicket-taker Faheem Ashraf.

Shadab Khan ended skipper Morgan’s inning, he managed to contribute only two runs.

Later in the match, middle-order batsmen, Babar Azam and CA Ingram’s 53-run partnership neutralised bowling attack of the United to easily take the team to home.

First Innings

Fast bowlers Usman Khan Shinwari and Mohammad Irfan Jr gave an early break to Karachi by dismissing openers JP Duminy and Alex Hales.

Duminy was trapped lbw by Usman at 4, and Irfan caught and bowled Hales for 11. Hussain Talat, despite an impressive run this tournament, could only manage 1 before he was removed by Irfan.

Asif Ali tried to break the pressure by scoring 34 off 14, but his resistance was ended by Tymal Mills.

Mohammad Amir dismissed Shadab Khan at 8, as Islamabad slumped to 105-7.

Islamabad made three changes tonight with Luke Ronchi rested, Chadwick Walton in, Zafar Gohar in place of Samit Patel and Steven Finn in for Mohammad Sami.

error: Content is protected !!