2nd T20; Pakistan defeated New Zealand by 7 wickets, took the lead in the series.


2nd T20; Pakistan defeated New Zealand by 7 wickets, took the lead in the series.

Rawalpindi (Report: Asghar Ali Mubarak)

Thanks to the excellent performance of the bowler, Pakistan easily defeated New Zealand by 7 wickets in the second T20 match and took a 0-1 lead in the series.

In the match against Pakistan, New Zealand’s batting line-up suffered from failure and the whole team collapsed after scoring only 90 runs.

In the second T20 match of the series played by Pakistan in Rawalpindi, Babar Azam won the toss and decided to bowl first.

The New Zealand team struggled from the start and Tim Seifert was bowled out for just 12 runs in the third over of the innings for a total score of 16.
The Kiwi team was not yet recovered from the loss as Mohammad Amir dismissed Dan Foxcroft in his next over after ending Tim Robinson’s innings.

After falling for three wickets for 36 runs, James Neesham came to support Mark Chapman, but in the eighth over of the innings, Abrar Ahmed made two consecutive successes and left Chapman, who scored the most 19 runs, as well as Neesham.

Skipper Michael Bracewell could also score only four runs and Shadab got his team a crucial win by walking the Kiwi skipper as well as Ash Sodhi.

Shaheen Shah Afridi sent Cole McConchie and Ben Lister back to the pavilion to end New Zealand’s innings on 90 runs.

The match was packed with spectators – Photo: PCB
On behalf of Pakistan, Shaheen Shah Afridi took three wickets while Amir, Shadab and Abrar took two wickets each.

When Pakistan started the innings, Saeem Ayub hit a boundary on the first ball, but Ben Lister ended their innings on the very next ball.

After that, Mohammad Rizwan came to support Babar Azam and both of them together brought the score to 41, but on the same score, captain Babar’s innings of 14 runs also came to an end.

Usman Khan also failed to make any special impression and was bowled by Ash Sodhi after scoring seven runs.

After giving away three wickets for 56 runs, Irfan Khan Niazi came to support Rizwan and both of them gave their team access to the score without further loss and managed to win by 7 wickets.

Rizwan played an innings of 41 runs off 34 balls while Irfan scored 18 runs. Shaheen, who took 3 wickets for 13 runs, was adjudged Man of the Match for his excellent bowling.

After winning the toss earlier, Pakistan have retained the final eleven of the previous match for the match. Pakistan team for the match Babar Azam (Captain), Muhammad Rizwan, Saib Ayub, Iftikhar Ahmed, Irfan Khan, Usman Khan, Shadab Khan, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Naseem Shah, Muhammad Amir, Abrar Ahmed.

error: Content is protected !!